Chocolate Peanut Butter Cookies

Inside the Cookie

Super delicious!

I thought it was time to try my hand at cookies again. I love cookies but they always take so much work. So, naturally, I chose cookies that take tons of work to make. Although at first I was hating myself because I was completely failing at these cookies. Then I saw the cookie light and at the end they turned out successful. What is so special about these lovely chocolate cookies is that there is peanut butter inside. What a treat.

Cookie Dough:

1-1/2 cup flour

1/2 cup unsweetened cocoa

1/2 teaspoon baking soda

1/2 cup sugar

1/2 cup firmly packed brown sugar

1/2 cup of softened butter (one stick)

1/4 cup peanut butter

1 teaspoon vanilla extract

2 large eggs

Filling:

3/4 cup peanut butter

3/4 cup confectioners sugar

  1. In a small bowl mix flour, cocoa, and baking soda.
  2. In a large bowl combine sugar, brown sugar, butter, and peanut butter and blend until it is light and fluffy. Then add vanilla extract and the two eggs; mix well. Blend in the flour mixture and then set aside.
  3. In a small bowl mix together the 3/4 cup of peanut butter and confectioners sugar. Then make into about one-inch peanut butter balls. I used my mini-scoop and it seemed to make the right amount. And they really don’t need to be balls.
  4. Scoop out about a tablespoon of cookie dough and flatten it in your hand. Take a peanut butter ball and place it in the middle of the dough. Fold the dough up so it makes like a little chocolate taco shell and pinch together so the peanut butter is hidden as best as you can. Shape it into a circle.
  5. Place the cookie dough on an ungreased cookie sheet. Keep them about two inches apart so you don’t have connecting cookies. You can even flatten them a little, they don’t spread a whole lot.
  6. Bake them in a 375 degree oven for 8 or 9 minutes or until you see the cookies set and maybe even crack a little. Then let them cool and enjoy.

This recipe only makes around 15 cookies. That is the basic outline and works well but I am sure there can be some fair improvement on it. Seeing as this is the first time I have made them I’m pretty impressed with them. Both my mom and sister told me they are delicious and I think so too.

Peanut Butter Filling

See? Not really balls at all.

Folding

It just takes a little practice.

Just before going in the oven.

Just before going in the oven.

Looking good, right?

Looking good, right?

[Thank you, Superwife.]

I can’t believe spring break is already over. I probably should have made more use out of all my freetime, but I was fine with just relaxing. But the end of spring break also means that I will no longer just have a kitchen located near me. So the next recipe might be a while but I will try my best. On a bright side though, I am going to get back into making friendship bracelets! I will probably post something about those if I remember how to do some neat patterns.

Leave a Reply

