A Weekend at Home

This past weekend I went back home for the first time during this quarter. It has made me realize three things:

  1. My favorite dog, Lucy, loves me so much and misses me a lot.
  2. Although I love my laptop and everything I have done to customize it, nothing beats the power of our desktop computer.
  3. I miss having a kitchen easily available to me because I want to start making many desserts.

This all sums up everything I have done over the weekend. I played with my dogs, went between my laptop and desktop computer, and made tasty treats. The last of these things made me feel proud of myself because I actually produced something delicious that people like to eat. It impressed both my mom and sister because both know how much I hate cooking. I have lately discovered that I do hate cooking but I really enjoy making sweet stuff. But this new discovery is also held back until I can get more than just a micro-fridge in my room. So while at home, I made Red Velvet Cake Balls. I like to call them cake bites but mine really aren’t bites at all. dsc00004

They were pretty easy to make. Before going home I was stumbling upon stuff on the Internet and came across a blog titled Bakerella. Their recipe for Red Velvet Cake Balls caught my interest because I knew that at my house we had several of the ingredients and I could easily make it. Plus, it just looked really good. I would suggest this treat to anyone who is capable of baking (one of my favorite things to do) and can dip stuff in chocolate.

The recipe can be found here.

I did not use chocolate bark because I really did not want to melt tons of chocolate in my microwave. It just sounded pretty gross to me. Instead I took roughly two pounds of semi-sweet chocolate chips and melted them in our double boiler. (Two bags were nice and Toll House chips but half-way through dipping I ran out of chocolate and had to go buy more. Turns out my six dollars was not enough to buy another pound of Toll House so I used a generic brand instead. It doesn’t matter because it is still good.) That way is was good looking chocolate and was easy to keep at a pretty good consistency. But I’m sure if you want to try this you could just as easily use chocolate bark like the recipe says to.

dsc00003There are a few things that I would have liked to have done differently while I was making this. My first batch that I started dipping was a small disaster and turned out pretty ugly looking. I had problems with the temperature of the cake; they weren’t cold enough. So even before half-way through the batch was dipped the cake started to get room temperature and began crumbling a little bit in the chocolate when getting rolled around. It made the batch look lumpy and unattractive; especially when I started to reach the end of it and was running low on chocolate. The second batch turned out fine because I had cooled them longer so I didn’t have that problem. Also, I believe I made mine a little large. My sister helped me with the rolling of them and she dished out the lumps while I hand rolled them (she didn’t want to get her hands dirty, lame). She dished out some large portions of cake. So next time I would definitely make them smaller. Also, I think next time I will either experiment with using white chocolate or using a different type of cake for the center.

My sister needed to remind of my hatred towards cooking and how I really can only make desserts, but she is “far superior”. She confessed that the only thing that I am better at than her is making brownies. I do have delightful brownies but I hope to change her mind in the future that I am capable of just making that one wondrous dessert. I assisted her later with her peanut butter fudge by mixing it.

In general, I think I am just going to start making things. Either it be desserts or crafty-type items, they will be made by me. I just need to start getting the right supplies.

(In case you were wondering, besides making these I spent a lot of my time playing The Sims 2 or Left 4 Dead. That is just how much I win.)

One Response to “A Weekend at Home”

  1. […] The rest is here:  A Weekend at Home […]

Leave a Reply

