The Adventures of January 28th, 2009

This will be a lovely photo blog of the adventures that I had (sort of) on our snow day here at OU. Most of these adventures were with Jeremy so he can feel special about this. Actually, I think all of them were but that doesn’t matter.

The day began at night actually because I was still up until 2:30 that night just trying to get back to my room. It was after the freezing rain had struck the town of Athens and there was snow under ice under water. Jeremy and I exited the apartment building to find a tree just chilling a lot lower than it normally does.

dsc000831

So that was a treat. We continue walking to find that after crossing Court Street the majority of the sidewalk is pure ice with some water on top making it pretty awesome to walk across. I think it may have taken us close to ten minutes to walk a block, but it was so much fun in the process. I actually have a video of it but it is awful and dark and my voice is terrible. You don’t get to see it. Looking over at College Green was sweet. The ice had frozen over the snow we had gotten the night before and it made it look like plastic. I took a picture of it and it just looks more like water but it doesn’t matter because it is still pretty great.

dsc00085

We trucked our way down Jeff hill, but not really because I pretty much walked down as Jeremy slid. My stupid boots didn’t slide very well. I made it back to Jefferson safely and managed to stay on my feet the entire time, while someone else did not. Then I fell asleep and did all that boring stuff.

The next morning I awoke to girls screaming in the hallway that the university was closed. Oh yeah, this was at seven in the morning. My roommate and her friend that was staying the night also woke up and decided together that I didn’t come back last night because I wasn’t visible from where they were sitting. I listened to them check to make sure the girls in the hall were correct, started talking about how awful the weather was and then I spoke and scared them. I, then, fell back asleep.

I woke up around eleven to go eat lunch. I looked out our window to find snowflakes… probably the biggest snowflakes I have ever seen. On average, I would say they were as big as quarters. But some were so much larger. I remember seeing one that was this big… I am making a hand motion to describe the size of it. I guess it would be as big as those tiny pancakes you see some diners serving.. the half dollars pancakes or something. I don’t know. But I tried to take a picture of them out my window and it didn’t really work out too well.

dsc00087

I did boring, everyday things of nothing unlike like… five that evening. I went up to College Green to finally enjoy the weather with Jeremy and managed to get some sweet pictures of stuff there. You can see them now.

So Jeff hill looked like that.

So Jeff hill looked like that.

Just some College Green-ness.

Just some College Green-ness.

Some sweet berries. I think this looked better on my camera's screen.

Some sweet berries. I think this looked better on my camera's screen.

I ended up liking this picture more.

I ended up liking this picture more.

I don't understand why this tree still has leaves. It isn't helping it though.

I don't understand why this tree still has leaves. It isn't helping it though.

Cutler and whatnot.

Cutler and whatnot.

So the whole point of us going up to College Green was to build a snowman… I think. It turns out the snow didn’t want us to do that because it had to be mostly ice. What a jerk. So I made a mini-snowman. I used all the warmth in my hands to create him. He is adorable. He stands about a foot high and he looks as though he is sleeping. I decided to name him Alvin after much consideration. That means friend of elves and I think Alvin would be very friendly if an elf came across him. I hope that my pain and agony brought joy to more people than just me and someone did not just crush him.

dsc00107

There was not much else I could do with completely numb hands so we headed back to the apartment and drank some hot chocolate. I had to go through some excruciating pain in warming my hands back up.

I thought this looked pretty sweet. Right?

I thought this looked pretty sweet. Right?

The day dwindled after that. We went and got some Goldfish crackers (which I just finished off before typing this sentence) and made some pretty good brownies.

Overall, the day was an awesome day. There was no point in sharing this with the Internet except to show that snow days are the best days.

Leave a Reply

